Call for nominations for the 2019 Weissenberg Award

The next ESR Weissenberg Award will be bestowed during AERC 2019 in Portoroz. The award is given for outstanding, long-term achievements in the field of Rheology. Only rheologists whose center of scientific activities lie in Europe are eligible, and nominations of awardees are welcome. Nominations must include:

  • Brief scientific biography
  • Review of nomineeʼs accomplishments advancing the science of Rheology upon which the nomination is based
  • Curriculum vitae with publication list
  • Supporting letters from other rheologists, which address nomineeʼs achievements

Nominations should be sent to the Chairman of the Weissenberg Award Committee (Prof. Manfred Wagner, no later than November 30, 2018. Please do not hesitate to contact the Weissenberg Award Committee or the ESR President ( in case you need further information.

Weissenberg Award Committee

The Weissenberg Award committee has three members, likely past Weissenberg award winners. The term is for three nomination rounds and the chair is the member serving in her/his last round.

  • Manfred Wagner (Chair, until April 2019)
  • Dimitris Vlassopoulos (2015 - 2020)
  • Philippe Coussot (2017 - 2021)

The Weissenberg Award committee can be contacted via

Weissenberg Awardees

Philippe Coussot (2017)

Dimitris Vlassopoulos (2015)

Michael Cates (2013)

Manfred H. Wagner (2011)

Ole Hassager (2009)

Tom Mcleish (2007)

Roland Keunings (2005)

Ken Walters (2002)

Hans Martin Laun (2000)

Giuseppe Marrucci (1998)