In commemoration of the scientific achievements of James Gardner Oldroyd, pioneer of rheology, the European Society of Rheology (ESR) decided in 2023 to introduce a “Oldroyd Early Career Award” for outstanding, early-career achievements in the field of rheology and for commitments to the rheological community. 

Onde Danzanti  by Luigi Tirino

Eligible are young rheologists regardless of their geographical location. The award is bestowed annually.

Oldroyd Early Career Award RULES

The Early Career Award is bestowed by the ESR every year to a young prominent rheologist who has distinguished her/himself in research, practice, or service to rheology, regardless of her or his geographical location. The nominee must have completed her/his first terminal degree no more than twelve years prior to the year of the award for which she/he is a candidate.

Maternity: an extension of 12 months is granted for each child born before the deadline of the call. Paternity: an extension of 2 months is granted for each child born before the deadline of the call. Extensions for other leaves or career breaks are granted according to the documented period of leave.

The Early Career Award Committee and the chairperson are appointed every three years by the Executive committee of the European Society of Rheology.

The call for nominations is sent out not later than October of the year before the award.

Nominators must be members of the ESR, they cannot nominate more than one nominee per year and in the same year cannot write support letters for other nominees. A letter writer is not allowed to support more than one nominee per year. Members of the Executive Committee of the ESR are not eligible to nominate, write support letters or be nominated.

Nominations are received by the chair, by the deadline of end of December before the award year and shared with the committee members.

The Committee may reconsider unsuccessful nominations from the previous year, if the nominee is still qualified and the nominators sent a letter asking for reconsideration, after which nomination packages need to be resubmitted.

The Early Career Award Committee conveys its recommendation to the President of the ESR who shall transmit the recommendation to the Executive Committee for approval. The President of the ESR in turn will inform the awardee.

The award ceremony takes place at the AERC or at the ICR. The ceremony is organized by the ESR president in collaboration with the local AERC or ICR organizers. Committee members are not involved in this ceremony. It is preferable that the nominator introduces the awardee. The awardee is expected to give a lecture during the AERC or ICR. The ESR president coordinates the organization of the ceremony.

Oldroyd Early Career Award Committee


  • Giovanni Ianniruberto (Chair)
  • Ian Frigaard
  • Dimitris Vlassopoulos

The Oldroyd Early Career Award Committee can be contacted at

Nomination Procedure

Nominations should be sent to the Chairman of the Oldroyd Early Career Award Committee (Giovanni Ianniruberto) not later than January 31, 2024. Please do not hesitate to contact the Chairman or the ESR President (Christian Clasen) in case you need further information.

Nomination Package

It must include

  • Brief scientific biography

  • Review of nomineeʼs accomplishments upon which the nomination is based (not exceeding 2 pages)

  • Curriculum vitae of the nominee with an up-to-date publications list.

  • Up to three supporting letters from other scientists, which address nomineeʼs achievements and impact on rheology.

  • A 50-word citation, written by the nominator, which would be used in the event the nominee receives the award.

  • A recent, high resolution photo of the nominee in appropriate format (jpg or tiff or similar).