Invited Speakers

Anke Lindner

Anke Lindner

Anke Lindner is a professor of physics at University Paris Cité, France and performs her research at the PMMH laboratory of the Ecole Supérieure de Physique et Chimie (ESPCI), Paris. She obtained her PhD from the Ecole Normale Supérieure, Paris in 2000 working on interfacial instabilities in complex fluids. She has then worked as a consultant at McKinsey and Company, in Zurich, Switzerland and as a Post-Doctoral fellow at ESPCI. Her current research activities concern the flow of complex fluids, ranging from active matter, to suspensions and biofluids and her experimental group uses original microfabrication, microflow and particle tracking techniques to investigate fluid-structure interactions in viscous flows. She has been awarded an ERC consolidator grant in 2015 and became a fellow of the APS-DFD in November 2019. She is the Maurice Couette award winner of the French Society of Rheology 2019 and received the silver medal of the CNRS in 2021.

Anke will present a talk entitled "From individual trajectories to collective motion in suspensions of E-coli bacteria."

Randy Ewoldt

Randy Ewoldt

Randy H. Ewoldt is the Alexander Rankin Professor at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (UIUC). He conducts fundamental research in fluid mechanics, rheology, and soft matter. This includes yield stress fluids, polymer gels, biological materials, new measurement methods, data computation, and techniques for avoiding bad data in rheology. He is the winner of numerous awards for science and teaching accomplishments including the PECASE award from the US White House and the Metzner Award from the Society of Rheology. He regularly lectures at rheology short courses in the USA and Europe.

Randy will present a talk entitled "Protorheology" (concerning approximate quantitative inference from simple observations!)

Weissenberg awardee: Olivier Pouliquen

Olivier Pouliquen

Olivier Pouliquen is a CNRS Research Director at the Mechanical and Engineering Institute of Aix Marseille University, within the IUSTI Laboratory. He obtained a PhD in fluid mechanics and instabilities at the École Polytechnique under the supervision of Patrick Huerre and Jean Marc Chomaz, before becoming interested by the physics of granular media during a post-doc with Stuart Savage in Montreal. He has since explored the flow of divided media, and with his colleagues of the SOFT group at IUSTI, he has explored the rheology of granular materials, dense suspensions and more recently cohesive materials in search of a continuous description of these complex disordered media. He is fellow of the European Mechanics Society (Euromech), has received the Mergier Bourdeix prize of the French Academy in 2017 and the silver medal of the CNRS in 2018.

Olivier will present a talk entitled "How grains flow? The rheology of granular systems, from sand to sticky grains"

Oldroyd awardee: Qian Huang

Qian Huang

Qian Huang is a professor at Sichuan University, China. She obtained her Ph.D. in molecular rheology of complex fluids from the Technical University of Denmark (DTU) in 2013. Then she continued working at DTU as a postdoc and later a researcher until 2020. In 2021 she joined the Polymer Research Institute at Sichuan University. Her current research studies the nonlinear extensional rheology and elastic fracture of polymer liquids as a function of their molecular structures by combining rheology, fluorescence microscopy and neutron/X-ray scattering techniques.

Qian will present a talk entitled “Influence of macromolecular architectures and chemical structures on extensional rheology of polymer melts.”