European Society of Rheology (ESR)

The European Society of Rheology is open for everyone interested in rheology in all countries of Europe. Rheology is defined as the science of the deformation and flow of matter which means that rheology in some form enters almost every study of material properties. The ESR involves rheologists engaged in both industrial and academic research and development and is therefore a common meeting ground for engineers, physicists, chemists and biologists with a common interest in rheology


Annual European Rheology Conference 2019 (AERC 2019)

Portoroz/Slovenia, April 8 - 11, 2019

The Annual European Rheology Conference (AERC 2019) will be held in Portoroz/Slovenia during April 8 - 11, 2019.

More information, the scientific program, and images will become available soon.

Weissenberg Award 2017

The 2017 Weissenberg Award recipient is Philippe Coussot from Université Paris-Est, Laboratoire Navier (Ecole des Ponts, IFSTTAR, CNRS), France. Coussot has contributed to both fundamental and engineering aspects of rheology, in particular thixotropy and yielding of dense suspensions, pastes and other complex out-of-equilibrium materials.  He has made ground-breaking discoveries (such as viscosity bifurcation), developed cutting-edge experimental protocols (such as rheo-NMR) and contributed massively to the conceptual understanding of the rheology of (simple and thixotropic) yield stress fluids and their flow in complex geometries. With the same rigor, he has applied NMR to advance the field drying and porous media flow. His pioneering work has shaped the field and pushed toward unprecedented progress. Philippe is an active member of the rheology community, strongly engaged and dedicated mentor. Further details can be found in

Executive Board

The Executive Board (2017 - 2021) of the European Society of Rheology is:

  • Peter Fischer (President)
  • Mats Stading (Past Preseident)
  • Bettina Wolf (Treasurer)
  • Michel Cloitre (Secretary)
  • Pier-Luca Maffetone (Member at Large)
  • Evelyne van Ruymbeke (Member at Large)
  • Jan Vermant (European Editor of Rheologica Acta)

Nomination Board (2017 - 2021)

  • Helen Wilson (Chair)
  • Philippe Coussot
  • Norbert Willenbacher
  • Christian Clasen 

Representatitives of the individual members (2014-2018)

  • Manfred Wilhelm
  • Philippe Coussot
  • Norbert Willenbacher
  • Suzanne Fielding
  • Christian Clasen
  • Paula Moldenaers
  • Evelyne van Ruymbeke
  • Thomas Schweizer
  • Gianni Ianniruberto

Access to Rheologica Acta and Applied Rheology

Access to Rheologica Acta and Applied Rheology is free for all individual members of the ESR. Please access Rheologica Acta and Applied Rheology via the 'Member area'.

All participants of AERC 2017 (Copenhagen) and AERC 2018 (Sorrento) are automatically individual members of the ESR until end April of the following year.

Latest Job Offers

  • PhD Student - University of Maribor, Slovenia

    Separation processes and product design using supercritical fluids

  • Postdocs - Drexel University

    Postdoctoral position in (i) advanced manufacturing and (ii) pitch precursor development at Drexel University.

  • Postdoc - NIST, Maryland

    Postdoc at the National Institute of Standards and Technology in Gaithersburg, MD.

  • Postdoc - Chalmers University, Gothenburg

    Porstdoctoral position on bio-based fiber and nanomaterial composites.

  • PhD Student – Federico II University, Naples

    PhD project on the molecular origin of the nonlinear shear and extensional behavior of double dynamics networks.

All Jobs

Latest News

  • Mike Webster


    Mike Webster died mid May after a short and sudden illness. For many years Mike played an active role in the European Society of Rheology. An obituary will be published in Journal of Non-Newtonian Fluid Mechanic in due time.

  • DRG Rheology Price 2018


    The 2018 Rheology price of the German Rheology Society (DRG) was given to Clara Weis at the occasion of the Joint Symposium of the Belgian Group of Rheology and the German Rheological Society "Rheology – 360°" in Luxembourg during March 19-20, 2018.

  • Society of Rheology - 2018 Bingham Medalist


    Professor Michael Rubinstein of University of Duke University is the 2018 Bingham Medalist of The Society of Rheology.

  • Polish Society of Engineering Rheology joins ESR


    The Polish Society of Engineering Rheology (PSER) is now full member of the European Society of Rheology (ESR).

  • Hanswalter Giesekus (1922 – 2017)


    Hanswalter Giesekus passed away on December 4, 2017. An obituary will be published soon in Rheologica Acta.

All News

Next Conferences + Workshop

  • 3rd Edwards Symposium on Soft Matter

    September 5 - 7, 2018

    The 3rd Edwards Symposium on New Horizons in Soft Matter takes place at the Centre for Mathematical Sciences, Cambridge on 5th-7th September 2018.

  • International Symposium Food Rheology and Texture

    October 19 - 21, 2018

    International Symposium on Food Rheology and Texture (FRTI 2018) provides an ideal platform for researchers to present the latest and novel research findings on all aspects of food rheology and texture.

  • 8th International Symposium on Food Rheology and Structure

    June 16 - 20, 2019

    The 8th International Symposium on Food Rheology and Structure will be held in Zurich/Switzerland during June 16 - 20, 2019.

  • International meeting of the Hellenic Society of Rheology

    June 24 - 27, 2019

    The meeting is organized by the Hellenic Society of Rheology (HSR), in cooperation with the Department of Mathematics of the University of the Aegean, and the Department of Mathematics and Statistics of the University of Cyprus.

  • Pacific Rim Conference on Rheology (PRCR2021)

    August 1 - 6, 2021

    The next Pacific Rim Conference on Rheology (PRCR2021) will be held in Vancouver, Canada during August 1-6, 2021. More information will follow later.

All Events